Instagram is now one of the largest social medias in the world, with over 300 million users actively posting on the app. It’s the second largest picture sharing website on the internet, with Pinterest surprisingly remaining ahead in terms of popularity.
Despite Instagrams huge popularity, you may decide that Instagram is no longer for you. Maybe it’s taking up too much of your time or you’re simply not interested in the app any longer. We’re here to explain how you can delete your Instagram profile so that your information is removed from the site.
How to delete your Instagram Account:
- Sign into your Instagram account on a computer. You cannot do this on the mobile app, you must be signed in on a PC to deactive your account.
- Click on the picture of a user/figure in the top right corner and you will be taken to your profile.
- Once here, click on the ‘edit profile’ button.
- In the bottom right hand corner, click on ‘delete my Instagram account’
- You will be opted to select a reason for deactivation your account, we would advise you fill this in truthfully as it will help Instagram to improve the app.
Once you have finished step 5, your Instagram account will no longer be active, meaning your information will be removed from the site as soon as possible. If you would like your Information to dissapear from Instagram faster, we would recommend switching your account to private before deactivating.
If you cannot complete any of the steps above, just contact Instagram explaining why you want to deactive your account. While they cannot delete your account for you due to security reasons, they can guide you through the process in detail.
Before you deactive your Instagram account, make sure you are certain of your choice or you may end up regetting your decision. Strongly consider the other options that are available to you, such as changing your Instagram username or simply making your Instagram account private.
If you would like your account back after it has been deleted, you can sign in with the details you would normally use and your account will be reactivated, however this is only for a limited time (currently 3 weeks). After this time period, you cannot get your account back and all your Followers, Pictures and messages will be lost permanently.
Still want to delete your Instagram account?
If making your account private or blocking are still not convincing, you may just have to delete your Instagram account to avoid other users from viewing your personal data and being able to see your pictures.
If Social Media isn’t as fun for you anymore, try using SpeedyLikes to increase your Instagram Followers and Likes!